top of page
  • geneal1

Genealogy Forms

Have you ever thought of what types of genealogy forms/charts you need to keep up with your research? Something you could take with you on a research trip!

Here are six of my favorite forms to use.

  1. Ancestor Chart - download one of your favorites to use, or create your own. Most cover five to eight generations.

  2. Family Group Sheet - My personal favorite! This sheet has three generations in one spot.

  3. Records Checklist—I use the checklist from familytreemagazine.com. It lets me know what records I have checked for a certain ancestor.

  4. Relationship Chart - This chart is a must for any genealogy researcher! I always create a relationship chart for my research.

  5. Oral History Interview Record - If you are lucky enough to have a recording of your ancestors, then you have a treasure. I have several of these records from having conversations with my older ancestors.

  6. U. S. Census Checklist - lets you know in one look which census records you have researched.

Most of these forms/charts can be found by just doing a simple Google search. I have a folder on my desktop with all the different types of forms I have used.

I strongly urge you to implement these in your research.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Ancestor's Occupational Records

An ancestors job can tell you so much about their life. You can gain insight into their daily life, income, and social status. Where they worked can also explain why they moved from place to place. Wo

Some Gravestone Symbols and Their Hidden Meanings

As you walk through a cemetery when researching ancestors, it can be a haunting yet beautiful experience. Aside from names, birthdates, and death dates, gravestones are often decorated with symbols an

bottom of page