top of page
  • geneal1

Interviewing Family & Friends

Did you ever record your family & friends using a cassette recorder and a camcorder? I did.

Oh my goodness, those recorders & cameras were so big & heavy.

You can download several apps to your mobile device for quick & easy use.

I remember when we visited my grandparents, my mom would write down information on family members on anything she could get her hands on. Brown paper bags were used many times.

Many say the art of interviewing is old & outdated. I disagree! If you could read the older newspapers of Jones County, you would discover a wealth of information. The newspapers were full of very useful tidbits.

I have access to the Jones County Newspapers that date as far back as January 1905. Granted, I do not have a copy of every newspaper issued, & some of the microfilmed copies are hard to read, but we do have them.

The stories of Jones County, & surrounding areas are amazing. For instance, The Laurel Ledger, Laurel, Jones County Miss., Saturday, June 10, 1905, has an obituary of Cornelius McDevitt, a 67-year-old Confederate Veteran. It has a very nice history of Mr. McDevitt and details of his death. There is also a listing of businesses in Laurel that agreed to close their doors at six o'clock p.m. every day except Saturday until further notice.

Some of the society news could also lead you to find information on your ancestors. This interview was done by a reporter of people who wanted to share information. There are details of families leaving for vacations, engagement parties, dances, birth announcements & even club meetings.

Visit the genealogy library to view these newspapers & much, much more.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Ancestor's Occupational Records

An ancestors job can tell you so much about their life. You can gain insight into their daily life, income, and social status. Where they worked can also explain why they moved from place to place. Wo

Some Gravestone Symbols and Their Hidden Meanings

As you walk through a cemetery when researching ancestors, it can be a haunting yet beautiful experience. Aside from names, birthdates, and death dates, gravestones are often decorated with symbols an

Why Is My Surname Misspelled?

I’ve heard many people say, “That can’t be my ancestor because we spell our name differently.” In my research, it turned out that Susannah Smith Tisdale and Susanah Teasdale were exactly the same pers

bottom of page